Tag Archive | Kimi

Raikkonen completes Free Practice 2 on top

Kimi Räikkönen completed Fridays action at the top of the time sheets.

The Lotus driver set a time of 1m34.154 beating the Red Bull pair of Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel. Fernando Alonso finished 4th ahead of Scot Paul di Resta and team mate Felipe Massa.

Romain Grosjean, Nico Rosberg, Adrian Sutil and Lewis Hamilton rounded off the top 10.

Button completed the day as the fastest Mclaren driver in 11th. Vergne was 12th followed by Perez, Ricciardo and Hulkenburg. Williams completed a disappointing day down in 16th and 17th. Van der Garde finished the day at the bottom of the time sheets.

The session got underway with plenty of cars heading out to complete early lap times.

With 40 minutes of the session to go, teams began their longer runs on both sets of tyres and heavier fuel loads yielding no further improvements in lap times.

A few drivers ran off the circuit with the most notable incident coming from Esteban Gutierrez who over steered his Sauber into the front end of Charles Pics Caterham, puncturing the Mexicans front left tyre.


Kimi wins in Australia

Kimi Raikkonen has become the jest winner of the 2013 season at Albert Park.

He led home Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel who ensured the podium was an all-champion affair.
Felipe Massa finished 4th ahead of Lewis Hamilton in 5th and Mark Webber in 6th.

Twice leader of the race Adrian Sutil fell away in the final stint to finish 7th ahead of team mate Paul di Resta in 8th. Mclarens Jenson Button finished 9th and Romain Grosjean rounded out the points in 10th place.

Melbourne Factfile

18 – Kimi Raikkonen is looking to extent his consecutive points scoring run to 18, going back to Bahrain last season.

18 – It’s the 18th time F1 has been held at the Albert Park circuit, the first being in 1996.

4 – An Australian has never won the Australian Grand Prix, the best results was Mark Webber’s 4th place in 2012.

2 – This weekend will see Sergio Perez and Esteban Guitterez on the grid, the last time at least two Mexicans were on the grid was the 1968 Mexican GP.

150 – Jenson Button has lead most laps of the Australian Grand Prix of the current crop – with 150 laps.

11 – McLaren are the most successful constructor at the Australian Grand Prix. They have 11 wins and 13 further podiums.

6 – The record number of Australian Pole Positions Ayrton Senna gained, all at Adelaide.

4 – Jenson Button has won three Australian Grands Prix, Michael Schumacher however has won the most, with four wins In 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004.

4 – Mercedes engines have powered four of the last five Australian Grand Prix winners.

4 – There will be four French drivers on the grid for this seasons opener (Romain Grosjean, Jean-Eric Vergne, Jules Bianchi and Charles Pic) The last time there were at least four French drivers was 1994. They were Jean Alesi, Erik Comas, Olivier Panis, Eric Bernard, and Luxembourg-born racer Bertrand Gachot.

4 – Great Britain will have four drivers (Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button, Max Chilton, Paul di Resta) on the grid for the season-opening Grand Prix for the first time since 2008 (David Coulthard, Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and Anthony Davidson).